Fractal Meta Guide

General Information

Welcome to our Fractal Meta Guide for Guildwars 2. Here you will learn everything you need to know about playing effectively in Fractals.

1. Fractal Introduction

1.1. Fractals of the Mists

Fractals of the Mists are 5-man Mini Dungeons/Raids that have scalable difficulty levels from 1-100 categorized into Initiate(1-25), Adept(26-50), Expert(51-75) and Master(76-100). There are 17 different Fractals in total, everyone of them with a completely new location and mechanics. The 17 Fractals are:

If you want to know which Fractal is on which Level you can check out this link or type /wiki fl ingame

1.2 Mistlock Instabilities

The main difference from Dungeons or Raids are the Mistlock Instabilities and Agony Resistance. We will go over Agony Resistance later but Mistlock Instabilities are extra permanent effects added to your runs. They vary depending on your difficulty level and require adaption from you and your teammates. They start at level 26 and increase in quantity the higher you go. These are the Instabilities and what they do:

Instability Effect
No Pain, No Gain Enemies receive Protection.png ProtectionMight.png Might and Fury.png Fury when you hit them.
Last Laugh Enemies explode when killed.
Afflicted Enemies apply random damaging conditions.
Social Awkwardness Recharge time Receive agony and damage from nearby allies when you attack enemies.
Toxic Trail Enemies leave a trail of toxic sludge behind them as they move around.
Flux Bomb You are periodically afflicted by the Anomaly’s flux bombs.
Adrenaline Rush Enemies become enraged for a time when low on health.
Mists Convergence The Fractals of the Mists are blurring together…

2. Contents

To make it easy to navigate the guide, we have split it into 4 pages:


  • 20 September 2017:  Updated contents section
  • 3 September 2017:  Added section

Support the Site